Monday, November 3, 2008

Disappointing Week

The amazing 5-2 Champions League win against Fenerbahce in Sukru Saracoglu, followed by 2-0 win against hard fighting Hammers in Upton Park in the weekend, Arsenal seemed as a tough team to play with...again when Bentley's stunner was almost overshadowed by Robin van Persie's excellent play, Spurs came out from 2 goals behind to level with the last gasp goals to bring 1 valuable point home. Arsenal was again as fragile as they were written in the opening of the season...3 loses so far, despite the reality of not meeting any of the other Big 4, for some of the fans, season is over...the draw against Spurs in the Emirates must be the most disappointing so far...we still couln't win after putting the ball 4 times behind Gomes's net...

what Arsenal should do in the last 2 minutes was just to keep the ball possession -which has been Arsenal's specialty for many years...to let them cought up in the last minute of play was so frustating...and to tell you the truth, if you are really an Arsenal fan, this situation is always happening...just like when I thought the Champions League trophy was going to Highbury...

then in the weekend, the "wrongly set" legs and head of Adebayor killed our chances to overcome Stoke...it's unfair to blame him alone, but if he could slammed every chances he got last season, he might've scored 40 if not 50 goals...

The Problems....
1). DEFENSE: it's obvious....i really want to tell Mr. Wenger that Arsenal defenders are not necessarily French - since the defense of French team itself is a plastic bag too...people said Clichy and Sagna are well-played..for me, Clichy is a good attacking minded defender but not a good left back...and Sagna himself is playing everywhere like he's suffering from a fever...he's worse than last season...Gallas made too many mistakes...and he's not communicating well with Toure' or Sylvestre...And Gallas is NOT a captain...

2).GOALKEEPER: when defense is good, there's no reason for not keeping clean sheet...Double Combo for Chelsea who have world class defenders and keeper...same to United...Arsenal's Almunia is a joke...he's got all the acrobatic play and all that for no reasons...because the ball keep ending up behind his net...

3).DEFENSIVE MIDFIELDER: a major leakage in the team and Wenger seems doesn't bother about this...he played Denilson which is the worst ball-passer in the team when Gilberto is gone...Flamini's departure is a regret...although his name is not spoken anymore among the fans, but inside everybody knows he is the man for this job...and he left...Fabregas alone cannot do attacking and defending at the same time...he must focus on the attack with his passes...he's the game creator and that is his ability...seriously we need a man there...I want Senna, or Xabi Alonso, or Yaya...

4.)STRIKER: kick Adebayor out - play our V's: Vela and van Persie

Monday, September 15, 2008

and now it's Veloso...

another name linked to Arsenal...in fact, Veloso was linked since summer this year...the 21-year old has been a target for Arsenal, United and Spurs but it seemed like Spurs pulled out...now it's either United or Arsenal..let's see what will happen on the January transfer window...

Friday, September 5, 2008

Stephen Appiah is going to Arsenal?

rumours are still around every corner of the Emirates stadium although Arsenal failed to add another body to their squad after the transfer window closed last Monday..now it's about Stephen Appiah who is currently a free agent..the 28-year old Ghanaian played for Fenerbahce and didn't continue his contract since October last year..as a free agent, he is free to join any club in any period of the season and he is suddenly linked to Arsenal and West Ham..
nicknamed "Tornado", he is very dominant in midfield and is also very strong, has a strong engine and good tactical awareness. He is an all-round box-to-box midfielder who is able to defend as well as create and score goals.

Thursday, September 4, 2008

new signings

Having lost the service Mathieu Flamini (left)and Alex Hleb (right) who left for Milan and Barcelona respectively, Arsenal had certainly looked weaker..Flamini, who was not favoured for most of his seasons in Arsenal appeared to be as important in the middle of the park last season..his absence is surely a blow for us..Hleb in the other hand had always appeared in Arsenal's strating line-up..the playmaker was an unknown subject when he played for Stuttgart in German Bundesliga, but established himself as one of the world's best midfielder under the guidance of Wenger..his departure will leave an impact to Arsenal's young guns, although his ratings in goal scoring is not excellent..he's a type of player who can change the rhythm of the game..he's contribution is not at the goalscoring..he's a link between gameplay and goals..for me, he's a great player and i hate to lose him..

enough of the old story....

Arsenal made a few new signings this season..however we failed to add another midfielder to replace Flamini...until now, Denilson played the role but personally i don't think he's good enough..anyway, let's see some new faces in the red and white colour of Arsenal this season..

1. Samir NASRI

tagged the new Zinedine Zidane, i initially didn't believe that he's as good as the French legend...after observing a few games, i thought he had the quality..he's technically perfect and to say, he controls and dribbles the ball with intention that he won't let the opponent take the ball from him..and indeed, it's hard to get the ball from his feet..and that quality is very similar to that of Zinedine...opened the new Premier League season with a fine scoring debut..he'll be a great player..

2.Amaury BISCHOFFsigned from German outfit, Werder Bremen Amaury is a midfield player who can play in the centre or at the right flank. Amaury has a bad injury record but for Arsene, signing him was a gamble of talent..i haven't seen myself how good this player is..but hope that he's got good pair of legs..

3. Carlos VELAbought as a 16-year old in 2005, Vela was loaned for 3 seasons in the Spanish sides Celta Vigo, Salamanca and Osasuna since the had his work permit not granted..only this season, the Mexican striker is brought back to the Emirates Stadium..the cultured left-footed forward is certainly a player to watch in Arsenal line-up this season..who cares Chelsea had Drogba (or Schevchenko..?), we have Vela..

4. Aaron RAMSEYanother schoolboy added to the team..Ramsey was described by Arsene Wenger as a player with a fantastic engine, good build, good technique and good vision...the Welsh was signed from the mouth of Old Trafford during Euro 2008...made a fine debut by conducting the midfield very well in this season's Champions League qualifier against FC Twente in the Netherlands..

5. Mikel SILVESTREcould be the experienced player promised by Wenger...signed from Man Utd for PS 700,000 Silvestre is not a rare player in the Premier League...can play at the center or left back..




Wednesday, September 3, 2008

new kits on the block

new season has started..this is our colour for this season...





new home kit...looks very nice...traditional red and white colour of Arsenal...went to Nike Store in KLCC last August when it was launched and only to find that it was was sold out...too bad for me since only S size fits me..wanna buy a ladies pattern for my gf with Fabregas 4 on the back...but not on sale at any outlets yet..


this is our new away kit..inspired by legendary win in Anfield in 1989, when Arsenal needed a win over Liverpool with 2-goal margin while playing away...a job that was quite impossible since u know how mighty Liverpool was as they always be..Arsenal won by 2-0...and it was won in the very last minute of the game...let's hope that it was not just history...let's re-live the Premier League crown again...lamak dah sik menang League tok pok..



this third kit was actually our last season's away kit...built as a tribute to late manager of Arsenal...(i can't remember the name..but surely he's a legend)...we wore this kit when we won in San Siro against AC Milan to qualify for the Champions League quarter final last season..

introduction


welcome to the new season of 08-09...despite 3 consecutive years without winning a trophy, the Gunners don't change as much this season - on the paper..last season, we were very2 near to win the league crown, only if we could defend well and prevent United and Chelsea from putting the ball behind our net after we took the lead in both games..it was very near..but no regret..

personally, i thought like it was a faith..the away game against Birmingham City was the turning point, when Eduardo suffered a horrific injury after just 5 minutes of game play..i still remembered the panic face of Cesc when he took a look at Eduardo after the tackle..i thought he was pulling a prank since he's that type of playful boy..we drew the game..Walcott's contribution was overshadowed...

let's hope we could do things better this year..although we don't look that mighty on the paper, but mathematically, if we could win every games, draw against the likes of Liverpool and City, lose to United and Chelsea (and we already lost to Fulham - duh), we already gather 101 points..i think that's enough...let's see what we can do this season...